Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Yes, the curfew is 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. This is the time when a person under the age of 16 cannot be out wandering the city. This ordinance does not include a child who is returning home from certain events, if they have been babysitting, with someone of the age of 18 or they are approved by a parent.
For further information regarding the curfew, please see city ordinance 12-09. If caught out during the hours of the curfew, the child will be brought either to the West Fargo Police Department, home or YouthWorks Attendant Care.
Show All Answers
You are encouraged to license your bicycle. It is a great way to find your bicycle in case it is stolen.
Bicycle license can be purchased for $1 at the West Fargo Police Department lobby (800 Fourth Ave. E., Suite 2) 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Information that needs to be provided to receive your bike license include make, model, color, wheel size, serial number and speed.
No, it is unlawful for any person to discharge a firearm or dangerous weapon within the city limits.
If you are found guilty of firing a weapon within city limits you will be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor which is a $250 fine.
For further information please refer to city ordinance 12-0306.
Yes, there is a leash law. According to City Ordinance 11-0201, "No person who is owner or keeper of any animal shall allow any animal to run at large in the city." To report an animal at large, please contact the Police Department at 701-515-5500. They will require the following information: the address, type of animal, and when you saw the animal last.
A noise ordinance is always in effect within the city limits. According to City Ordinance 15-14,it shall be unlawful for any person to make any loud, unnecessary or unusual noise or any noise which either annoys, disturbs, injures or endangers the comfort, repose, health, peace or safety of others within the limits of the City of West Fargo.
If you feel a neighbor is unlawfully noisy, you can contact the West Fargo Police Department at 701-515-5500. If a West Fargo police officer feels that the noise is unwarranted, the officer will ask the responsible party to cease creating the noise.
City Ordinance 11-0102 requires that all dogs and cats over the age of 12 weeks must be licensed by the West Fargo Police Department. In order to license your pet, please bring proof of a current rabies vaccination to the West Fargo Police Department. A clerk will then issue the license after verifying that the proper vaccination has been given. and the proper fee is paid. Pet licensing is also available on our website. The pet license is valid for the issued year. Tags for the new year will be available starting in December.
For more information, visit the Animal License page on the West Fargo Police Department.
The new constitutional concealed carry law took effect on August 1, 2017, which allows residents to carry a concealed weapon in North Dakota without a concealed weapon license if they meet certain requirements. It is only applicable within the state’s borders and only for ND residents who have a valid driver's license and are not otherwise prohibited from possessing or carrying a weapon. It is still necessary to have a concealed weapon license to carry concealed in states that have reciprocity with ND, including Minnesota, South Dakota and Montana. Reciprocity applies only if you possess a valid concealed weapon license.
To learn more about these requirements, please visit the North Dakota Attorney General's website.
Yes, you will need to contact the Police Department at 701-515-5500 and ask to speak to the Support Services Officer. Be prepared to provide the officer with the following information: your name, address, date, time and type of event. The officer will consider the request and make a determination if the special parking is warranted.
All vacant buildings must be secured/boarded and then registered with the city if it meets the criteria. Buildings can be registered using our Vacant Building Registration Form. Once filled out the city will contact the owner to complete the registration process and fees.